Valley, NE. – Perfect playing conditions welcomed our Nebraska PGA Professionals to The Pines Country Club for the 3rd Annual Legends of Golf Classic. Inspired by Members who have shown a dedicated and tireless effort in growing the game of golf over the past few decades, this event honors our PGA Professionals who have paved the way for future generations of PGA Professionals within our Section. The criteria for this event was PGA Members who have 20 or more years of experience or who are 50 years or older. Adding to the celebration, the event was even more special after the Nebraska Section PGA was recognized with the 2020 Herb Graffis Award for extraordinary efforts in growing the game.

The format for today’s tournament was one best-ball on the par 3’s and one best-ball shamble on the par 4’s and 5’s. University of Nebraska PGA Golf Management Program’s Scott Holly, PGA and Jim White, PGA MP of Fairways at Lincoln combined to shoot 10-under-par to capture Nebraska PGA’s Legends of Golf Classic. Holly and White’s bogey-free round was highlighted by consistent scores on each side. On the front nine, the duo birdied three of the first five holes and they kept it going on the back. Holly and White went on a streak and birdied three consecutive holes on the back before capping off their round with an eagle on the final hole. Scott Holly’s putt on No. 18 was much-needed as they snuck out a one-
stroke victory over Tiburon Golf Club’s Jon Petersen, PGA and Chris Wiemers, PGA.

Thank you to Head Golf Professional Don Dravland, PGA, General Manager Mike Ten Eyck, PGA, Superintendent Josh Hegy and the rest of the staff at The Pines Country Club for the wonderful hospitality. Today wouldn’t have been possible without our presenting sponsor Club Car/Nebraska Golf & Turf and supporting sponsors Arnold Palmer Spiked, Coors Light, FootJoy and the PGA Tour.

Team Leaderboard

1 Scott Holly UNL PGM Program
Jim White Fairways at Lincoln F -10 62

2 Jon Petersen Tiburon GC
Chris Wiemers F -9 63

T3 Mark Baumann Eagle Hills
Bill Scarborough F -5 67

T3 Don Germer The Players Club at Deer
Charlie Borner F -5 67

5 John Craw
Bob Saffer Crooked Creek GC F -3 69

6 Mark Nygaard Stone Creek GC
Greg Wiemers Stone Creek GC F -1 71

7 Denis Vontz Highlands GC
Tim Rowland Pioneers GC F +1 73