Omaha, NE. – The Players Club at Deer Creek – Omaha welcomed 66 Nebraska PGA Professionals for the Section’s season-opening event. Teams of three competed in the 27-hole event on one of the best days for golf so far in 2022. The format was a scramble on the front nine, 1-best ball on the back nine and finished with a modified alternate shot on the Highland nine. Tremendous scores were posted across the board and it was a great start to the season.

Mid-way through the day, the trio of Tony Baranowski, PGA, Joe Finnegan, PGA and Bill Jacobsen, PGA found themselves atop the leaderboard thanks to two eagles and seven birdies in 13 holes. The team of Mitchell Klooz, Ted DiGiacomo, PGA and Sarah Pravecek, PGA caught fire during their second nine making eight birdies in nine holes. Finishing in second at 18-under-par was the legendary trio of Pete Hagen, PGA, Don Germer, PGA and Jim White, PGA MP.

Several teams put together great rounds, but nobody was able to match the team at the top. Ryan Vermeer, PGA, Mike Antonio, PGA and Jon Petersen, PGA teamed up and it paid off. The difference maker came in their final nine holes during the modified alternate shot portion. After starting with four consecutive birdies, they went onto shoot 7-under-par during the toughest stretch of the tournament to take the overall clubhouse lead at 19-under-par. Their number held on and the trio came out victorious.

We would like to thank Head Professional Tyler Lane and Superintendent Jared Reinke as well as the entire Professional staff at The Players Club at Deer Creek – Omaha for hosting us. We would also like to thank our presenting sponsors Club Car (Nebraska Golf & Turf), Coors Light and White Claw Hard Seltzer as well as our supporting sponsors Sterling Cut Glass, ahead, Tito’s Handmade Vodka and the PGA Tour.


1 Mike Antonio Happy Hollow Club
Jon Petersen Tiburon Golf Club
Ryan Vermeer Happy Hollow Club

2 Pete Hagen Johnny Goodman Golf Course
Don Germer
Jim White Fairways at Lincoln

3 Mitchell Klooz Champions Run
Ted DiGiacomo Golf Galaxy – Omaha
Sarah Pravecek Wilderness Ridge Golf Club

4 Troy Harder Firethorn Golf Club
Mike Coatman Firethorn Golf Club
Brad Neunaber Hidden Valley Golf Club

T5 Kevin Drew Field Club of Omaha
Brad Bailey Champions Run
Scott Holly UNL PGM Program

T5 Connor Farrell Stone Creek Golf Course
TJ Loudner Stone Creek Golf Course
Drake Lundeen Stone Creek Golf Course

T5 Bryan Hughett Albion Country Club
J. D. Brake ArborLinks Golf Course
Ty Stewart Lost Rail Golf Club

8 Rusty Jensen The Bluffs Golf Course
Troy Arfsten Dakota Dunes Country Club
Grant Campbell The Bluffs Golf Course

T9 Denis Vontz Highlands Golf Course
Mike VunCannon Elks Country Club
Shane Zywiec Highlands Golf Course

T9 Bobby O’Keefe Oak Hills Country Club
Justin Herron Oak Hills Country Club
Samuel Martin Oak Hills Country Club

T9 Mike Fauver Miracle Hill Golf & Tennis
Phil Palmer Miracle Hill Golf & Tennis
Sam Jonell Miracle Hill Golf & Tennis

T9 Tony Baranowski Fremont Golf Club
Joe Finnegan Shadow Ridge Country Club
William Jacobsen The Knolls Golf Course

T13 Judd Cornell The Players Club @ Deer Creek
Devon Kastler Landscapes Unlimited
Justin Onken Ashland Golf Club

T13 Joe Canny Jim Ager Memorial Golf Club
Alex Janssen The Ridge Golf Club
Tyler Lane The Players Club @ Deer Creek

T13 Derek Carlson Shadow Ridge Country Club
Jason Palmer Shadow Ridge Country Club
Trevor Svec Happy Hollow Club

T13 Steve Friesen Firethorn Golf Club
Joe Sutter Quarry Oaks Golf Club
Brian Steventon Quarry Oaks Golf Club

17 Cody McCann The Players Club @ Deer Creek
Drew Seubert ArborLinks
Todd Anderson Pacific Springs Golf Course

18 Scott Harmelink Green Valley Golf Course
Matthew Nelson
Bob Walker Green Valley Golf Course

T19 James Weaver Southern Hills Golf Course
Cody Troudt Riverside Golf Club
Jayde Curley Southern Hills Golf Course

T19 Mike Cornell Champions Run
Mike Schuchart Wilderness Ridge Golf Club
Greg Neujahr Champions Run

21 Jeff Henry Country Club of Lincoln
Austin Miller Omaha Country Club
Nick St. Onge Country Club of Lincoln

22 Jonathan Beaver Landsmeer Golf Club
Mallory Simmelink Landsmeer Golf Club
Josh Enholm Champions Run


The Nebraska Section PGA is a non-for-profit organization comprised of nearly 300 PGA Members and Associates who strive to promote the enjoyment and growth of the game of golf.  Nebraska Section PGA encompasses the entire State of Nebraska, western fifth of Iowa and a small portion of South Dakota including Dakota Dunes and Yankton.  The Section office is located in Lincoln, NE and acts as a resource for local and national golf information for the golf professional and amateur player alike.  Our members are often referred to as “Club Professionals”, not to be mistaken as PGA TOUR Professionals. Each Nebraska Section PGA professional serves as an expert in the ever-changing business of golf.  They are the leading expert players and teachers, skilled business managers, community leaders, and superior merchandisers who have dedicated their careers to the local delivery of these services.