Las Vegas, NV. – Presented by Callaway Golf, Harris Golf Cars and Vinnie Krikac’s State Farm Insurance Agency, Nebraska PGA Professionals and their teams of Amateurs left freezing Nebraska for Las Vegas in the 31st edition of the Nebraska PGA Vegas Classic. While below temperatures wreak havoc back home, Rio Secco Golf Club welcomed our field with sunny and 65 degree weather for round one of the annual Pro-Am. Represented by 20 Nebraska PGA Professionals and 80 Amateurs, the field looked to score high in the opening round of the stableford format.

In day one, playing conditions were near perfect and it showed in the scores following the first round in both the Professional and team divisions. Shane Zywiec, PGA of Highlands Golf Course began his 2021 off on the right foot with an opening round 1-under-par 71 which resulted to 43 points in the stableford format to lead the Professional division. One point off Zywiec sits Patrick Kilbride, PGA of Hillside Golf Course at 42 points after finishing at 1-over par 73. Rounding out the Professional leaderboard, Kevin Drew, PGA of Field Club of Omaha comes away with 38 points to sit in third.

Not only does Patrick Kilbride, PGA find himself in the hunt for the Professional division title, but he and his team of Amateurs lead the team division with a day one total of 116 points. Tom Birner (a), Jeff Heller (a), Dan Carlson (a) and Brian Brummund (a) teamed up with Kilbride and consistency led them to the top of the leaderboard. With 55 points in their first nine holes and 61 coming home, Team Kilbride holds a 7-point advantage over Anthony Driscoll, PGA of Bent Tree Golf Club and his team of Amateurs. With just one day under our belt, the team division is up for grabs with over 10 teams in the hunt.

We would like to thank Rio Secco Golf Club and the entire Professional staff for hosting us for the first round of our 31st Nebraska PGA Vegas Classic. We would also like to thank Callaway Golf, Harris Golf Cars and Vinnie Krikac’s State Farm Insurance Agency for making this event possible once again. Round two will tee off tomorrow at TPC Summerlin, the home of the PGA Tour’s Shriner’s Hospitals for Children Open.

Professional Leaderboard

1 Shane Zywiec (p) Highlands GC
2 Patrick Kilbride (p) Hillside
3 Kevin Drew (p) Field Club of Omaha
4 James Kinney (p) GolfTec – Omaha
T5 Jonathan Beaver (p) Landsmeer GC
T5 Ted DiGiacomo (p) Golf Galaxy – Omaha
T5 Nick Shanahan (p) Shadow Ridge CC
T8 Jim White (p) Fairways at Lincoln
T8 Nick Wanderscheid (p) Dakota Dunes Country Club
T8 Steve Friesen (p) Firethorn GC
11 Troy Harder (p) Firethorn GC
T12 Trevor Chesnut (p) Scottsbluff CC
T12 Ryan Norman (p) Fox Run
T12 Anthony Driscoll (p) Bent Tree
T12 Tony Pesavento (p) Omaha CC
T16 Dominick Mitchum (p) Omaha CC
T16 James Weaver (p) Platteview Country Club
18 Mark Ruhga (p) ArborLinks
19 Greg Gilg (p) Field Club of Omaha
20 Brian Fauss (p) Riverside GC

F * 43 43
F 42 42
F * 38 38
F 37 37
F 36 36
F * 36 36
F * 36 36
F 35 35
F 35 35
F * 35 35
F 33 33
F * 31 31
F 31 31
F 31 31
F 31 31
F 30 30
F * 30 30
F * 29 29
F * 27 27
F * 21 21

Team Leaderboard

1 Patrick Kilbride (p) Hillside     F 116 116
Tom Birner (a)
Jeff Heller (a)
Dan Carlson (a)
Brian Brummund (a)

2 Anthony Driscoll (p) Bent Tree     F 109 109
Sean Witecy (a)
Kyle Reznicek (a)
Steve Hogan (a)
Ben Starkel (a)

3 James Kinney (p) GolfTec – Omaha     F 108 108
Chris Sullivan (a)
Rob Schmitt (a)
Kevin Kalil (a)
Kurt Boustead (a)

4 Shane Zywiec (p) Highlands GC     F * 105 105
John Reiss (a)
Ryan Remmes (a)
Eddy Sabat (a)
Brook Darnell (a)

T5 Greg Gilg (p) Field Club of Omaha     F * 104 104
Hayden Renter (a)
Darin Taylor (a)
Brian Lundin (a)
Nate Egger (a)

T5 Nick Wanderscheid (p) Dakota Dunes Country Club     F 104 104
Spencer Christian (a)
Brandon Mahoney (a)
Mike Gregg (a)
Criag Manker (a)

7 Nick Shanahan (p) Shadow Ridge CC    F * 100 100
Zach Peed (a)
Nick McDermott (a)
Dustin Heng (a)
Shaun Karch (a)

T8 Jim White (p) Fairways at Lincoln     F 99 99
Josh White (a)
Jay Winter (a)
Tony Panella (a)
Mike Goltl (a)

T8 Tony Pesavento (p) Omaha CC     F 99 99
Mike Kubat (a)
Lyle Olson (a)
Rich Manning (a)
Bill Cutler (a)

10 James Weaver (p) Platteview Country Club     F * 98 98
Adam Sautter (a)
Drew Callahan (a)
Scott Sautter (a)
Brian Palmer (a)

T11 Kevin Drew (p) Field Club of Omaha     F * 97 97
Mel Bull (a)
Brett Lundin (a)
Pat Hoshor (a)
Thom Harmon (a)

T11 Jonathan Beaver (p) Landsmeer GC     F 97 97
Vinnie Krikac (a)
Tim Bixenmann (a)
Justin Roach (a)
Marcus Kuhlman (a)

13 Ted DiGiacomo (p) Golf Galaxy – Omaha     F * 96 96
Mark Hart (a)
Tim Marchese (a)
Doug Mitchell (a)
Gene Wendt (a)

14 Dominick Mitchum (p) Omaha CC     F 95 95
Steve Ritzman (a)
Tim Kerrigan (a)
Nick Mazgaj (a)
Ken Stoll (a)

T15 Troy Harder (p) Firethorn GC     F 94 94
Earl Haddow (a)
Brian McHugh (a)
Jeff Wessel (a)
Bob Glesman (a)

T15 Mark Ruhga (p) ArborLinks     F * 94 94
Trevor Knuth (a)
Justin Hart (a)
Derek Lyman (a)
Michael Lucchino (a)

17 Brian Fauss (p) Riverside GC     F * 92 92
Chris Hartwig (a)
Perky Rother (a)
Jason Luebbe (a)
Mike Stoppkotte (a)

18 Trevor Chesnut (p) Scottsbluff CC     F * 91 91
Nic Haun (a)
Bryce Liptac (a)
Kevin Patterson (a)
John Schlothauer (a)

19 Ryan Norman (p) Fox Run     F 85 85
Grant Wakefield (a)
Kurt Rames (a)
Chris Harlan (a)
Dave Dales (a)

20 Steve Friesen (p) Firethorn GC    F* 79 79
Smokey Cornelius (a)
Art Becker (a)
Jeff Howerter (a)
Heath Jacob (a)