Hastings, NE. – The Nebraska Section PGA and Nebraska Golf Association put forth their best lineups of 12 players representing each organization in the 49th edition of the Nebraska Cup Matches. Lochland Country Club played host to the annual event and the players were welcomed with perfect scoring conditions setting up for a fantastic day. Coming into this year’s match, the Nebraska Section PGA led the all-time series 27-21 after a victory in 2020 at Bent Tree Golf Club.

The day consisted of 6 Four Ball matches in the morning worth 6 points each (2 front, 2 back, 2 total) and 12 Singles matches in the afternoon worth 3 points each (1 front, 1 back, 1 total).

Team Nebraska PGA got off to an early lead during the Four Ball matches with a score of 21 to 15. The scoring was highlighted by the pair of Ted DiGiacomo, PGA and Tom Hearn, PGA and the pair of Steve Friesen, PGA and Andrew Storm who both took all 6 available points over their opponents.

In the afternoon Singles matches, the NEPGA Professionals continued their hot streak and extended the lead. The team was led by Ted DiGiacomo, PGA, Tom Hearn, PGA, and Ryan Vermeer PGA who all won the three points that were up for grabs against their opponents. Jon Petersen, PGA secured the team victory with his 1 up finish and team Nebraska PGA went on to win 42.5 to 29.50 to claim the cup for the second year in a row. The series now favors the Professional side 28-21.

Complete results and more information can be found here: nebgolf.org/nebraskacup

2021 Amateur Team Members

Non Seniors: Bill Amundsen, Bennington; Caleb Badura, Aurora; David Easley, Lincoln; Calvin Freeman, Table Rock; Jay Moore, Lincoln; Johnny Spellerberg, Bennington; Scott Tridle, Lincoln; Charlie Zielinski, Omaha.

Seniors: John Sajevic, Fremont; Kirby Smith, Omaha; Gregg Vonnahme, Omaha; Ed Wyatt, Lincoln.

2021 Nebraska PGA Team Members

Non Seniors: Ryan Vermeer, Happy Hallow Club; Judd Cornell, The Players Club; Jay Cottam, Awarii Dunes GC; Steve Friesen, Firethorn GC; Kyle Schellpeper, Wayne CC; Andrew Storm, Shadow Ridge CC; Nick Wanderscheid, Morningside University and Shane Zywiec, Highlands GC.

Seniors: Jim White, Fairways at Lincoln; Jon Petersen, Tiburon GC; Tom Hearn, PGA Tour; Ted DiGiacomo, Golf Galaxy.