Bellevue, NE. – Platteview Golf Club played host to the first Professional-only event early in Nebraska Section PGA’s tournament season. In teams of two, 58 Nebraska PGA Professionals competed in tough, wet conditions made worse by consistent 25-30mph winds throughout the day. Given that, scores were impressive across the board in the two-man best-ball format. The day was highlighted by Ryan Vermeer, PGA of Happy Hollow Club and Judd Cornell of The Players Club winning on the first hole of the playoff to win.

The leaderboard was tight at the top with four holes to go in the shotgun event and even with the winds, the birdies continued to drop. Cornell and Vermeer got to 5-under-par after a birdie on their 16th hole of the day to take the lead. Playing behind their group and out of Ashland Golf Club, Justin Onken, PGA and Drew Van Ert, PGA made a late run by playing their last six holes at 4-under to get to 5-under total. Onken had a 25-footer to win it on their final hole, but came up just short sending the tournament to a playoff. Playing off No.10 tee, Judd Cornell hit his approach shot to six feet and made birdie on the par 4 to win it in exciting fashion. Finishing in solo third was Mike Coatman and Troy Harder, PGA of Firethorn Golf Club with seven groups tied for fourth.

We would like to thank Head PGA Golf Professional Jon Moore, General Manager Leah Dickerson, Superintendent Stephen Prasch and the entire staff at Platteview Golf Club for hosting us. We would also like to thank Miller & Sons Golf Cars/E-Z-GO, Gregg Young Automotive Group, J.R. Barger & Sons, Coors Light, White Claw Hard Seltzer, Zero Friction, Tito’s Handmade Vodka and PGA Tour for supporting the event. The next NEPGA tournament is set for May 17th at Dakota Dunes Country Club for a Pro-3Am event.


1 Ryan Vermeer Happy Hollow Club
Judd Cornell The Players Club
F -5 67

2 Justin Onken Ashland GC
Drew Van Ert Ashland GC
F -5 67

3 Mike Coatman Firethorn GC
Troy Harder Firethorn GC
F -4 68

T4 Kevin Drew Field Club of Omaha
Jonathan Moore Platteview Country Club
F -3 69

T4 R.W. Eaks
Kyle Schellpeper Wayne Country Club
F -3 69

T4 Don Germer The Players Club
Brian Steventon Quarry Oaks
F -3 69

T4 Pete Hagen Johnny Goodman GC
Jon Petersen Tiburon GC
F -3 69

T4 Justin Herron Oak Hills
Bobby O’Keefe Oak Hills
F -3 69

T4 Shane Zywiec Highlands GC
Mike VunCannon Elks Country Club
F -3 69

T4 Jay Cottam Awarii Dunes GC
Cody Troudt Riverside GC
F -3 69

T11 Tony Baranowski Fremont GC
William Jacobsen The Knolls GC
F -2 70

T11 Steve Friesen Firethorn GC
Andrew Storm Shadow Ridge CC
F -2 70

T13 Mike Antonio Happy Hollow Club
Dave Schneider Happy Hollow Club
F -1 71

T13 Scott Harmelink Green Valley Golf Course
Brad Neunaber Hidden Valley GC
F -1 71

T13 Brad Bailey Champions Run
Scott Holly UNL PGM Program
F -1 71

T13 Anthony Driscoll Bent Tree
Ted DiGiacomo Golf Galaxy – Omaha
F -1 71

17 Drake Lundeen Stone Creek GC -E/S
TJ Loudner Stone Creek GC -E/S
F E 72

T18 Matt Nelson Floyd Park Golf Course
Bob Walker Green Valley Golf Course
F +2 74

T18 Jonathan Beaver Landsmeer GC
Caleb Malenke Quarry Oaks
F +2 74

T20 Alex Janssen Ridge Golf Club
Tyler Lane The Players Club
F +3 75

T20 Dominick Mitchum Omaha CC
James Kinney GolfTec – Omaha
F +3 75

T20 Jim White Fairways at Lincoln
James Weaver Platteview Country Club
F +3 75

T20 Phil Palmer Miracle Hill G&T
Cody Pitman Miracle Hill G&T
F +3 75

T20 Derek Carlson Shadow Ridge CC
Jason Palmer Shadow Ridge CC
F +3 75

T20 JB Benson Mahoney GC
Ryan Norman Fox Run
F +3 75

26 Chad Manes Happy Hollow Club
Austin Miller Omaha CC
F +4 76

27 Joseph Furasek Hidden Valley GC
Daniel Palmer Mahoney GC
F +6 78

28 Samuel Martin Oak Hills
Trevor Svec Indian Trails CC
F +8 80

29 Jared Frost Miracle Hill G&T
Paul Murcek Golf Status
F +10 82