Lincoln, NE. – It was a perfect day for scoring at Yankee Hill Country Club on Monday and Mike Coatman of Firethorn Golf Club took full advantage of those conditions to post 6-under-par 66. Coatman took advantage of the ideal scoring conditions and had six birdies, one eagle and only one bogey to capture his second Pro-Am victory of the 2019 season. Coatman continues to prove he will be a force to reckon with once he obtains his PGA of America Membership.  Ryan Vermeer, PGA of Happy Hollow Club continued his stellar played by finishing runner-up at five-under-par 67. Vermeer took advantage of the par 5’s as he usually does with the only blemish on the day was his bogey on the par 3 eighth hole.

The team competition was a run-away with the team of Coatman and his amateur partners, Kyle Jaacks, Brett Sundberg and Austin Zimmerman posting nine-under-par 135 in the “Lone Ranger Format.” Each player was the dedicated Lone Ranger once every four holes and their score had to count towards the team total of 2 net best balls. Players really enjoyed the tougher format just being debuted at this tournament in 2018.  Coatman’s play motivated his amateur partners as they made some timely putts to match the many birdies made by Coatman.

The Nebraska PGA would like to thank Director of Golf, Andy Bauer, Golf Course Superintendent, Rob Hall and the entire professional team for a spectacular day of golf at Yankee Hill Country Club. Special thanks to our Presenting Sponsor, Harris Yamaha Golf Cars and regional representative, Kevin Dorrington. We also appreciate our Supporting Sponsor, Vinnie Krikac State Farm Insurance Agency of Lincoln, Nebraska.


1   Mike Coatman Lincoln, NE Brett Sundberg Kyle Jaacks Austin Zimmerman           135

T2  Jim White Lincoln, NE Scott Davis Morgan Davis Scott Nelson                                 137

T2  Ryan Vermeer Omaha, NE Vinnie Krikac Joe Zimmerle Jason Hoffman                  137

4   Shane Zywiec Seward, NE Dillon Ruether Steve Stevenson Craig Kubicek                 138

T5  Steve Friesen Lincoln, NE Jace Guthmiller Jason Peter Scott Frost                            139

T5  James Weaver Bellevue, NE Jc Weaver CL Stevenson Shelly Liddick                         139

T7  Greg Gilg Omaha, NE Mark Roseland Jim Paben Bruce Clure                                      141

T7  Kevin Drew Papillion, NE Pat Hoshor Adam Johnson Doug Peters                             141

T7  Bentley Benson Hastings, NE Adam Anderson Bentley Benson, Jr. Brent Benson   141

T7  Tom Johnson Norfolk, NE Nick Murdock John Lund Austin Lueth                            141

11  Ted DiGiacomo Papillion, NE Trent Tiessen Joe Heinkel Alex Casebeer                     142

12  Bernie Blan Crete, NE Ken Parks Brenda Parks John Quinn                                         143

13  Jon Petersen Omaha, NE Matt Wollum Marcus Loudner John Dietrich                    144

T14 Justin Herron Omaha, NE Jim Atkinson Kirk Fleck Mike Humphrey                       147

T14 Kyle Schellpeper Omaha, NE Jeff Siegert Todd Van Essen Mike Depa                      147

T16 Troy Harder Wayne, NE Kelly Hansen Check Parker Don Koeber                             148

T16 Tony Baranowski Omaha, NE Brian Green Randy Hoffman Mike Brewer               148

18  Sam Jonell Omaha, NE Cody Pitman Dominic Zappia Ken Mueller                           153



1   Mike Coatman     Lincoln, NE       33-33–66 -6

2   Ryan Vermeer     Omaha, NE        35-32–67 -5

3   Steve Friesen    Lincoln, NE           35-33–68 -4

T4  Jon Petersen     Omaha, NE         34-36–70 -2

T4  Ted DiGiacomo    Papillion, NE   32-38–70 -2

6   Justin Herron    Omaha, NE          36-35–71 -1

T7  Kevin Drew       Papillion, NE       35-38–73 +1

T7  Troy Harder      Wayne, NE           36-37–73 +1

T7  Shane Zywiec     Seward, NE         37-36–73 +1

10  Tony Baranowski  Omaha, NE      40-36–76 +4

T11 Jim White        Lincoln, NE           38-39–77 +5

T11 Bentley Benson   Hastings, NE    40-37–77 +5

13  Kyle Schellpeper Omaha, NE        41-37–78 +6

14  Sam Jonell       Omaha, NE            39-41–80 +8

T15 Greg Gilg        Omaha, NE             44-37–81 +9

T15 Bernie Blan      Crete, NE              40-41–81 +9

17  James Weaver     Bellevue, NE      44-40–84 +12

18  Tom Johnson      Norfolk, NE       48-43–91 +19



The Nebraska Section of the PGA is one of 41 Sections that together comprise the PGA of America.  The Nebraska Section PGA is a non-for-profit organization comprised of approximately 261 PGA Members and 21 PGA Associates who strive to promote the enjoyment and growth of the game of golf.  The Nebraska Section PGA encompasses the entire State of Nebraska, western fifth of Iowa and a small portion of South Dakota including Dakota Dunes and Yankton.  The Section office is located in Lincoln, NE and acts as a resource for local and national golf information for the golf professional and amateur players alike.  Our members are often referred to as “Club Professionals”, not to be mistaken as PGA Tour Professionals.  Each Nebraska Section PGA Professional serves as an expert in the ever-changing business of golf.  They are the leading expert players and teachers, skilled business managers, community leaders, and superior merchandisers who have dedicated their careers to the local delivery of these services.

The Nebraska Section PGA, 610 J Street, Suite #10, Lincoln, NE 68508